The Lord Has a Plan – are we part of it?

 

Window girl - Cambodia
Image by Ostrosky Photos via Flickr

It’s the end of the grading season for Fall Semester, and I’m reading through the last assignments for my sociology course. It’s some of my favorite reading of the year: students choose three of the research findings from the course that they found interesting or surprising, present them clearly and accurately, and then tell me what grabbed their interest or surprised them. It’s a wonderful insight into their thinking – I’m often surprised at the things that surprise them.

 

The course presents a lot of information about many social problems; students are often surprised at the amount of misery and suffering in the world. Some are worried or angry – how will their generation clean up the mess? Some are energized – ready to get to work.

I’m puzzled by the small number of students who combine a deep faith in God with a passive stance to social problems. One student wrote, “I’m thankful to know that the Lord will provide for all our needs and we don’t need to panic or be frightened.” I’m with her when it comes to panic. But – both theologically and scripturally – most of God’s plans seem to include alert and caring humans who marshal the brains and energy God gave them to be part of the solution.

Joel Mabus
Cover of Joel Mabus

My old friend, Joel Mabus, wrote a song, The Preacher and the Flood. A preacher turns down all sorts of people who come to help him out of a predicament – says he’s trusting in the Lord.   He can’t recognize God’s intervention in the human help that’s offered to him.

Although I appreciate teaching in a faith-based college, I’m saddened that this strong faith in God’s provision isn’t accompanied by a sense of vocation – of God’s call on one’s life to be part of the solution.  I’m reminded of St. Theresa of Avila‘s awareness:

Christ has no body now on earth but yours,
no hands but yours,
no feet but yours,
yours are the eyes through which Christ’s compassion
is to look out to the earth,
yours are the feet by which He is to go about doing good
and yours are the hands by which He is to bless us now.

It’s my prayer that her strong love for Christ will draw her to where he is found: wherever there are people who are in any kind of need.

About Sister Edith

Benedictine sister of St. Scholastica Monastery in Duluth, Minnesota, serving in vocation and oblate ministry. Also a social scientist, reader, lover of nature and travel, and dabbler in many things. +UIOGD
This entry was posted in Education, Religion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Lord Has a Plan – are we part of it?

  1. Monica Isley says:

    Sometimes I think people feel overwhelmed. They see so much that needs changing, and feel powerless to change anything, so they ignore it altogether. What they fail to realize is that they don’t have to change the world or “fix” world hunger. They just have to make a difference in their own sphere of influence. If everyone did that, the whole world would indeed change.

    Personally, I try to notice which of my neighbors needs help with something, needs cheering up, needs a ride, whatever. I donate items to Clothe My People and Feed My People. I contribute whatever I can to larger organizations that help where I can’t reach–like Catholic Relief Services.

    What people COULD do–and may never think of–is ASKING God: What do you want me to do? How can I help? Then trust that the answer will present itself to them very quickly!

Comments are welcome and moderated

