Regional Differences – even in the small things

Different regions use different terms for - soda? pop? Coke?

We tend to think that America is one nation, or that the things that divide us are those hot-button topics like politics or religion or whether you mostly cheer for a football, hockey, or basketball team.  This map of a simple term – what do you call a soft drink? – shows that we are certainly organized in like-minded clusters.  As someone who says “soda” but lives deep in the heart of “pop” land, I can say: these little things do make a difference. I end up saying “soda pop” to make sure we all know what we’re talking about.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Sister Edith

Benedictine sister of St. Scholastica Monastery, Duluth, Minnesota
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Regional Differences – even in the small things

  1. Monica Sawyn says:

    I’m always amazed at how things differ from area to area. I noticed, when I moved to Two Harbors many years ago, that no one knows the difference between “borrow” and “lend.” They’ll say, “I borrowed him my car.” Drove me nuts!

    Now I live in Sturgeon Bay, Wis., and I notice they use the word “by” differently than I do. Someone mentioned to me that her brother had moved “by” her, and I couldn’t figure out where since there were no others houses, but she meant “with,” in the same house.

    Some of these word usage differences can be confusing. A former brother-in-law of mine came to Michigan from New York, ordered a “soda,” and was given something with ice cream in it. He meant “pop,” of course.

Comments are welcome and moderated

