Blooming Sanseveria!

Showing the blossoms on a Mother-in-Law-Tongue plant

Sanseveria in Bloom

My sanseveria plant, aka Mother-in-Law-Tongue, is blooming. I’ve never seen one do this before, and it’s fairly amazing.

Wikipedia reports that this could happen every 2-4 years especially if the plant is root-bound (guess I better find a bigger home for mine when it is done flowering) but other sources online say it happens much less often.

I was feeding all my houseplants leftover African Violet food; I wonder if that batch of nutrients induced the bloom?

At any rate, I’m enjoying this once in a lifetime experience.  To see the blooming process close up, watch the move below – someone used time lapse photography to capture it all.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Sister Edith

Benedictine sister of St. Scholastica Monastery, Duluth, Minnesota
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blooming Sanseveria!

  1. colleen walsh says:

    That explains the lack of flowers on my mother in law plant. I call it mine in the loosest possible terms. It was given to me but my sister has had posession for over 8 years because I have a brown thumb. She on the other hand has conscientiously repotted and split the plant at least 5 times. ;0)

Comments are welcome and moderated

