Learning Zentangle in Lent

First iPad Tangle

First iPad Tangle made in iOrnament

Several months ago, I heard about someone using drawing as a contemplative practice. Rather like the ancient Desert Fathers and Mothers who prayed day and night while braiding rope or making baskets to support themselves, the Zentangle® practice creates intricate patterns by repeating a fairly small number of strokes, and combines the patterns in beautiful and intricate ways.

My image of those desert monastics changed in a flash. I had imagined them weaving or plaiting the same pattern for years on end, something to occupy their hands while their psalmody was the real work.  What a foolish idea!!  Who could sing praise of the infinite variety of God’s creation while weaving the same basket over and over again? They must have been artisans: varying the shapes, sizes, uses, weaving patterns, handles and lids.  In a 4th century way, their practice was not so different from this Zentangle® I heard about.

I really wanted to learn it, but there were two major barriers.  I couldn’t imagine

that there would be any teachers in northern Minnesota.  And I really can’t draw.

Imagine my surprise to find that Esther Pisczek was offering Zentangle® classes through Community Education in Duluth. Ignoring the second barrier, I signed up.  I might not make any art, but surely I could benefit from the contemplation!

St Patrick's Day Tangle

St Patrick’s Day Tangle made in iOrnament

I love the class, the patterns and the focus that comes from drawing them – even though working with  art paper and special pens with flowing ink feels alien. Learning to braid rope in the Egyptian desert might be easier!  Recently, I tried drawing on an iPad or with a pen tablet – tools that are familiar – where software zooms in and helps me out.  So much easier!

I still do most of my “practice” by hand with pen and paper. I do want to learn a simple practice; the iPad makes it too easy to get caught up in thinking about the art and lose the rhythm of contemplation.  I truly benefit having a bit of both worlds.

What am I doing for Lent? Going outside my comfort zone. And finding it very good.

(Check out Esther Pisczek’s work on Facebook)

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Sister Edith

Benedictine sister of St. Scholastica Monastery, Duluth, Minnesota
This entry was posted in Arts and Music, Monasticism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learning Zentangle in Lent

Comments are welcome and moderated

